School Holidays: Your Guide to School Closures in 2022

The 2022 spring semester is here—and with it, planning childcare for all those scattered school holidays! Every working parent knows how difficult it can be to arrange care for these abrupt breaks in the schedule. Or worse, there’s the panic when you send your kid off to school only to find out it was a holiday and you forgot! While kids love the day off, it can be a nightmare to fit your own schedule around these calendar gaps.

school holidays closures 2022
Source: Shutterstock

With a little preparation, you can get a head start on booking your childcare for these days and ensure that your kids aren’t left sitting at home alone. Maybe you can even take advantage of one of these calendar days and plan a weekend family vacation! Know when you’re going to need a sitter, and book accordingly.

Major Civic Holidays in 2022

While schools are not required to follow federal holidays, many choose to do so anyway. You can count on your kids having most of these holidays off from school in 2022.

  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (Monday, 01/17/2022)
  • President’s Day (Monday, 02/21/2022)
  • Memorial Day (Monday, 05/30/2022)
  • Juneteenth (06/19/2022, but observed Monday, 06/20/2022)*
  • Independence Day (Monday, 07/04/2022)
  • Labor Day (Monday, 09/05/2022)
  • Columbus Day (Monday, 10/10/20222)
  • Veterans Day (Friday, 11/11/2022)
  • Thanksgiving (Thursday 11/24/2022)
  • Christmas Day (12/25/2022, but observed Monday, 12/26/2022)*

* Please note that when a federal holiday falls on a weekend, the federal government observes the day off on either the Friday preceding or Monday after. If your kid’s school also takes off, they will likely follow this guidance.

Other Holidays Recognized by Select States and School Districts

While the above is a list of federal holidays, some schools in select districts and states may choose to honor additional civic days. When planning your calendar, it’s important to watch out for these too. For example,

  • Abraham Lincoln’s Birthday (02/12/2022, but observed Friday, 02/11/2022) is observed as a state holiday in California, Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana, Missouri, New Jersey, New Mexico, and New York.
  • Similarly, César Chávez Day (Thursday, o3/31/22) is commonly observed in California, Arizona, Colorado, Michigan, New Mexico, Texas, Utah, and Wisconsin.

Be sure to check if your state has any specific holidays your school may observe!

Common Religious and Cultural School Holidays For 2022

Unless your child attends a religious school, there is no guarantee that they will be off for any given holiday. However, many school districts choose to honor major religious or cultural days on the calendar. They may grant the day off, or they may make it a day of prominence in the classroom to teach kids about different traditions. For both reasons, be sure to note down pertinent cultural and religious holidays from this list when planning your 2022 school calendar.

  • Chinese New Year (Tuesday, 02/01/2022)
  • Valentine's Day (Monday, 02/14/2022)
  • Maha Shivaratri (Monday, 02/28/2022)
  • Shrove Tuesday/Mardi Gras (Tuesday, 03/01/2022)
  • Ash Wednesday (Wednesday, 03/02/2022)
  • Purim (Thursday, 03/17/2022)
  • St. Patrick's Day (Thursday, 03/17/2022)
  • Holi (Friday, 03/18/2022)
  • Start of Ramadan (Sunday, 04/03/2022)
  • Palm Sunday (Sunday, 04/10/2022)
  • Passover (Friday, 04/15/2022 until Saturday, 04/23/2022)
  • Good Friday (Friday, 04/15/2022)
  • Easter Sunday (Sunday, 04/17/2022)
  • Eid al-Fitr (Tuesday, 05/03/2022)
  • Cinco de Mayo (Thursday, 05/05/2022)
  • Mother's Day (Sunday, 05/08/2022)
  • Shavuot (Saturday, 06/05/2022–Monday, 06/06/2022)
  • Father's Day (Sunday, 06/19/2022)
  • Eid al-Adha (Sunday, 07/10/2022)
  • Muharram (Saturday, 07/30/2022–08/27/2022)
  • Raksha Bandhan (Thursday, 08/11/2022)
  • Krishna Janmashtami (Thursday, 08/18/2022–Friday, 08/19/2022)
  • Ganesh Chaturthi (Wednesday, 08/31/2022)
  • Navaratri (Monday, 09/26/2022–Wednesday, 10/05/2022)
  • Rosh Hashanah (Monday, 09/26/2022–Tuesday, 09/27/2022)
  • Dussehra (Wednesday 10/05/2022)
  • Yom Kippur (Wednesday, 10/05/2022)
  • Mawlid (Saturday, 10/08/2022)
  • Sukkot (Sunday, 10/09/2022–10/16/2022)
  • Simchat Torah (Tuesday, 10/18/2022)
  • Diwali (Monday, 10/24/2022)
  • Halloween (Monday, 10/31/2022)
  • Día de Los Muertos (11/01/2022–11/02/2022)
  • Hanukkah (Monday, 12/19/2022–Monday, 12/26/2022)
  • Kwanzaa (Monday 12/26/2022–01/01/2023)

How Do You Plan Childcare for School Closures?

So now you have your dates. But how are you going to take care of your kids on these holidays? Rather than waking up surprised on the day of, you and your child can maximize the opportunity provided with a little thinking ahead.

“Prepare” Your Kid

Children thrive on structure, so be sure to head them off about the day off in advance, and what to expect. As the day approaches, they may hear other kids talking about going away on vacation, doing community service, or any number of activities. Make sure they know what the plan is for them for the day(s) off!

school holidays
Source: Shutterstock

Set Ground Rules

Just because they have a day off doesn’t mean it’s a free-for-all. Be sure to set ground rules for the school holiday. This goes for your kids, and for whoever is watching them—be it a family member or babysitter.

Make sure you are all on the same page. What are the do’s and don’ts to abide by? Discussing this up front will set your mind at ease when it comes time for a school holiday, and will also ensure the safety of your kids.

Plan Ahead

Planning ahead is key to maximizing the days off, for both you and your kids. See if you can arrange some activities for your kids on several of these days. Perhaps a playdate with friends? Or perhaps they can go visit the grandparents—or better yet, if you can time it with work, take an extended weekend vacation! Federal holidays are particularly likely to have crossover time on both your office’s and the school’s calendars.

When it comes to days that you can’t take off, it’s time to book a sitter. Thankfully, this advance planning means you’ll know exactly what days you need a babysitter for! Babysitters book up quickly over holiday periods, and securing your sitter early will save you the headache later.

Extended Break? Consider a Babysitter

Some school holidays are lengthier than others—think winter and summer breaks—and finding the right solutions for a longer amount of time off can be challenging. One option to consider at these times is a longer-term babysitter. Be sure to thoroughly vet your sitter, though! With that amount of time, you want to know your child is in good hands. Thankfully, apps like Nanno take care of the vetting process for you and can help you find the perfect sitter.

Let Nanno Help With Your Childcare Needs

Kids always love the holidays. Why shouldn’t you too? With a little forethought and planning, you can make sure you’re not scrambling at the last minute looking for childcare on a surprise day off. Plan your 2022 school holidays the right way—start booking your babysitters from now!

Babysitting app Nanno provides sitters on-demand for parents, whether it’s for a quick few hours or a more regular engagement. With sitters spread across most metro U.S. areas, you're sure to find someone who matches your needs. All their sitters undergo a rigorous four-step screening process, so you know all your options are more than qualified. Sign up today and get your 2022 planning started!

Author image
About Wynona March
Seattle, WA
Wynona is a writer and mom, with three children under age 6 and a penchant for crafting. She loves guiding her kids through projects of all kinds, from cooking to crafting to building a better robot.